Chipotle Black Bean Chili with Avocado Cream

I made the spiciest chili ever. But it was soooooooo good.

Spiciest Chili Ever

Chipotle Black Bean Chili with Avocado Cream
(adapted from Eats Well With Others and only adapted because I forgot some ingredients)

  • 2 tbsp olive oil
  • 4 large carrots, peeled and diced
  • 1 large onion, diced
  • chipotle peppers in adobo, minced (I used too much.)
  • 4 cup chicken broth
  • 1 15-oz. can black beans, rinsed
  • 1 small ripe avocado
  • 1/4 cup sour cream
  • 1 tsp lime juice
  • too much chili powder

Heat the oil in a 4 quart saucepan. Add the carrots and onions and cook until tender, stirring occasionally.

Add the peppers and cook for 1 minute.

Stir the broth and the beans into the pan and bring to a boil. Reduce the heat to low and simmer for 25 minutes.

In the bowl of a food processor, combine the avocado, sour cream  and lime juice. Pulse until smooth.  Season to taste with salt.

Serve chili topped with the avocado cream.

I used waaaaaaay too much of my Husband’s homemade chili powder. Way too much. So spicy I had to cut the soup with milk and Parmesan.

Which are also optional ingredients. If you want.