Recipe: Bison Meatballs with an Asian flare

I am not an amazing cook, but I am a stellar soup maker. A few weeks ago, I figured I would treat Husband and myself to our favorite Veal Meatball Soup versioned from Alex Guarnaschelli’s recipe (NEXT IRON CHEF WINNER!).

So I traveled to Dillon’s and traversed the meat department for a pound of ground veal, but the butcher sadly informed me that Dillon’s had no veal that day.

Sadness.

I still wanted a fancy meat for a fancy meatball so I grabbed a pound of bison and headed home. (With my other groceries. And I also paid for them. I promise I didn’t just walk out.)

Enter my non-soup making skills: Apparently, I am also pretty stellar at making bison meatballs with a little Asian kick.

Go me!

I did not believe that bison would react in the soup the same as veal, and I didn’t want to ruin expensive bison meat by tossing it in a pot it didn’t belong in.

I surfed the interwebz and found a recipe for bison meatballs. I didn’t want to serve my meatballs with spaghetti and marinara sauce because Husband hates both of those things, so I decided to serve it with stir-fried rice and peppers.

Asian flare.

Bison Meatballs
Ingredients

  • 1 pound ground bison meat
  • 1/2 cup bread crumbs
  • 2 eggs
  • 2 cloves of garlic, diced
  • 1/2 onion, minced
  • 1/4 cup grated parmesan cheese
  • 1 tsp. dried parsley flakes
  • 1 tsp. dried oregano
  • 1 tsp. soy sauce
  • 1 tsp. sesame oil
  • 1 tsp. salt
  • 1 tsp. ground black pepper
  • 1 tsp. cayenne pepper

Directions

Preheat your oven to 450 degrees. And prep a cast iron skillet for use.

Combine all ingredients except the bison, eggs, soy sauce and sesame oil in a large bowl. Add the remaining ingredients and gently combine. Do not over combine or the meat will get all chewy. Roll 6-7 large meatballs, about the size of a small fist, a place them in your cast iron.

Bake the meatballs in the cast iron skillet for about 30 minutes.

The original recipe asked to check and turn the meatballs after 20 minutes. After 20 minutes, my meatballs were done. I think it depends on your oven.

The meatballs were pretty tasty, and, while I won’t ever put marinara on expensive bison meat, I’m pretty excited to duplicate this recipe with some cow for a spaghetti and meatball dish of my own.

Bison Meatballs Recipe

Oh, and by the way, cast iron is probably the most amazing thing I’ve ever used to cook. INVEST in this stuff.

 

