Avocado Deviled Eggs + a new recipe

I invented a recipe!

I made up a recipe. I made something taste good without following a recipe… except the one I made up while I was cooking!

I felt so giddy about it.

Last Saturday, I found a recipe for Avocado Deviled Eggs. I hate deviled eggs, but I thought adding the avocado would make it OK for me.

Nope. Still hate them.

(The deviled eggs are not the recipe I invented. I’ll get to that.)

Avocado Deviled Eggs

Ingredients

  • 6 hard-boiled eggs, peeled
  • 1 ripe avocado
  • 1 Tbs. mustard (Added to the recipe on Husband’s advice.)
  • 1/2 tsp. lime juice
  • 1 Tbs. finely minced red onion
  • 1 Tbs. finely chopped cilantro
  • A few dashes of Tabasco sauce
  • A few grinds of pepper
  • 1/2 tsp. kosher salt

Directions
How to hard-boil eggs: Bake them in a muffin tin in the oven at 325 degrees for 30 minutes. Get a huge bowl of ice water. Use tongs and put the eggs in the water. This stops the eggs from cooking and turning green. After they cool, 10 minutes, you can peel them.

Cut eggs in half lengthwise. Carefully scoop out the yolks and put into a medium bowl. Put egg halves onto a platter and put into the fridge.

With a fork, crumble up the egg yolks. Cut avocado in half and remove the pit. Scoop out the avocado flesh from both halves and add it to the egg yolks. With a spoon, mix well, until the yolks and avocado are creamy. Add lime juice and mix well. Add red onion, cilantro, Tabasco, pepper and salt. Mix well to combine.

Remove egg halves from the fridge. Using a small cookie scoop, scoop avocado yolk mixture into the egg halves. Garnish with a single cilantro leaf. Serve immediately, or before the avocado browns.

deviled eggs recipe

Husband loooooooves deviled eggs, and I wanted to make them for dinner, but we couldn’t JUST have deviled eggs (especially since I hate them).

Now, the recipe for deviled eggs called for one tablespoon of minced red onion. Red onion doesn’t really come minced in one tablespoon portions.

I had a whole onion left!

What to do with a whole onion? Saute it! And then invent a delicious recipe.

 

I sliced the sweet red onion, chopped up a peeled sour apple and sautéed them butter. A little salt and pepper, a pinch of brown sugar, a dash of thyme and a bit of Dijon mustard, and I had a chunky sweet and sour onion sauce.

I sautéed five thin pork chops in the sauce mixture and served them together.

Pretty. Darned. Tasty.

Pork Chops with Sweet and Sour Onion Sauce

Ingredients

  • 1 Tbs. butter
  • 1 medium sour apple, cored and peeled
  • 1 medium sweet red onion, sliced
  • dash each of salt, pepper, brown sugar and thyme
  • 1 tsp. Dijon mustard
  • 4-5 boneless pork chops

Directions
Heat the butter in a large saute pan. Saute the red onions and apples in the butter. Add the remaining ingredients and allow the onions and apples to get mushed. Push the sauce to the sides of the saute pan.

Salt and pepper the pork chops and saute them in the center of the saute pan, about 2-3 minutes per side depending on the thickness.

 

 

