The truth about Progresso Soup

Progresso Soup is not a diet plan, but the company brags about the soups’ weight loss benefits. Spoiler Alert: I disagree.

I love the commercials. I find them all hilarious.

Unfortunately for Progresso, I’m not a big fan of canned soup. Tastes like… canned soup.

Livestrong.com writer Ed Donner outlined the pros and cons of the Progresso Soup Diet. And this con makes me want to avoid the canny-soupy-ness of Progresso soup.

“A single 1-cup serving typically has over 650 mg. of sodium, providing 20 to 30 percent of your recommended daily allowance of sodium.”

Sodium is not the nutrition I’m looking for in a diet. If you eat the whole can, you’re at about 40 to 60 percent of the sodium RDA. Avoiding other high sodium foods makes this a relative non-issue, but, really, folks… Sodium is in everything. I have trouble avoiding it.

Donner said:

“For a quick meal or even as a routine item in your weekly menu, Progresso soups provide quick, easy, relatively benign dining. However, they don’t have the nutritional muscle to meet your daily nutritional needs.”

My Opinion: Canned soup is not my thing, but lunching on half a can next to a salad or some salmon probably won’t kill you.

Probably.

What do you think of canned soups? Regular lunch plan or an occasional side dish? (Please don’t pour it over mashed potatoes.)

