Waffle Attempt #2: Multigrain Waffles

Waffle Attempt #2!

Multigrain Waffles from How Sweet It Is recommended by Dana @ my little celebration.

Multigrain Waffles
Ingredients

  • 2 cups buttermilk
  • 1/2 cup old-fashioned rolled oats
  • 1 1/4 cups whole-wheat flour
  • 1/4 cup toasted wheat germ (I do not even know where to begin to find this stuff. No wheat germ.)
  • 2 tablespoons ground flaxseed
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 2 large eggs, lightly beaten
  • 1/4 cup packed brown sugar
  • 1 tablespoon canola oil
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla extract (Still out of vanilla… so honey? Yes.)

Directions
Mix buttermilk and oats in a medium bowl; let stand for 15 minutes.

Whisk whole-wheat flour, flaxseed, wheat germ, baking powder, baking soda, salt and cinnamon in a large bowl.

Stir eggs, sugar, oil and vanilla into the oat mixture. Add the wet ingredients to the dry ingredients; mix with a rubber spatula just until moistened.

Coat a waffle iron with cooking spray and preheat. Spoon in enough batter to cover three-fourths of the surface (about 2/3 cup for an 8-by-8-inch waffle iron). Cook until waffles are crisp and golden brown, 4 to 5 minutes. Repeat with remaining batter.

Better than my first attempt; however, still not crispy enough. I needed to cook them longer or at a higher power on the waffle maker. Oops!

The cardboard taste? Not at all! At least, it didn’t taste cardboard-esque to me, but still had the filling fiber.

Multigrain Waffle recipeGround flax seed

Multigrain Waffle RecipeOatmeal and buttermilk

Multigrain Waffle RecipeAnd waffles!

Attempting to make and eating syrupy waffles has reawakened my love of breakfast sweets at the most inopportune time.

I want to lose weight and inches and flub, and that is quite impossible when all I want to eat is French Toast and Pancakes and Muffins and Waffles.

Sigh.

Silly girl… Waffles are for fit folks! I need to get fit quick so I can shovel carbs down my face for at least a week.

What’s your favorite breakfast food? My mother’s pancakes. When I was little, those pancakes were the best thing ever. All my friends wanted to sleep over at my house because they knew mom would make pancakes in the morning!

2 thoughts on “Waffle Attempt #2: Multigrain Waffles

  1. Glad you tried them and hopefully liked them! I’m trying a recipe out soon for coconut waffles. Can’t wait!!

    Oh, and one solution to the carb overload problem is saving waffles as a weekend treat. That way you don’t OD on carbs during the weak and feel like bloaty mctimberson by Sunday.

Comments are closed.